guides

FREE Days at Your Favorite Venues

Updated for 2024!

By Beth Marketos | Publisher's Assistant Macaroni Kid Lakewood-Littleton December 16, 2023

Colorado residents can enjoy FREE DAYS at some of our area's most popular destinations, thanks to SCFD funding as well as state and corporate sponsorship. Free Days are for general admission; special events and exhibitions may still require the purchase of a ticket.

Dates are subject to change without notice; contact the venue prior to your visit to confirm.


Buffalo Bill's Museum and Grave

987 1/2 Lookout Mountain Road, Golden | (720) 856-2160

  • Wednesday, January 3
  • Wednesday, February 7
  • Wednesday, March 6
  • Wednesday, April 3

Children's Museum of Denver at Marsico Campus
2121 Children's Museum Dr., Denver | (303) 433-7444
A special note: Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit the Museum any time throughout the year and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

FREE Nights are from 4:00–8:00 PM  and for Joy Park only. Aside from the restrooms, the inside of the Museum is closed

  • Friday, May 17
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 19
  • Friday, August 16
  • Friday, September 20

Clyfford Still Art Museum
1250 Bannock St., Denver | (720) 354-4880

A special note: Ages 17 and under are always FREE!

SCFD FREE Days

  • Thursday, February 29
  • Sunday, April 28 – Día del Niño Celebration Program
  • Sunday, July 28 – Disability Pride (Americans with Disabilities Act) Celebration Program
  • Saturday, November 2 – SCFD Free Day and Night at the Museums (free from 10 a.m. – 10 p.m.)

Pay-What-You-Wish Days 

Pay-What-You-Wish Days is an initiative to increase community access at the Clyfford Still Museum on select days throughout the year. Admission on designated Pay-What-You-Wish days can be as little as one penny. Online registration will be open one week before each Pay-What-You-Wish Day. The Museum will offer eight Pay-What-You-Wish Days in 2024.

  • Friday, January 12
  • Tuesday, March 26
  • Wednesday, May 29
  • Saturday, June 22
  • Friday, August 16
  • Wednesday, September 4
  • Thursday, October 3
  • Tuesday, December 3

Colorado Railroad Museum
17155 W. 44th Ave., Golden | (303) 279-4591

A special note: Boulder County residents can enjoy additional free days throughout the year. Visit the venue's website for details.

  • 2024 Dates TBD

Denver Art Museum
100 W. 14th Ave. Pkwy., Denver | (720) 913-0130

A special note: Children 18 years and younger are FREE every day of the year!

  • Tuesday, January 9
  • Saturday, January 27
  • Tuesday, February 13
  • Tuesday, March 12
  • Sunday, March 24
  • Tuesday, April 9
  • Sunday, April 28
  • Tuesday, May 14
  • Tuesday, June 11
  • Tuesday, July 9
  • Sunday, July 21
  • Tuesday, August 13
  • Saturday, September 7
  • Tuesday, September 10
  • Tuesday, October 8
  • Saturday, November 2
  • Tuesday, November 12
  • Tuesday, December 10

Denver Botanic Gardens
1007 York St., Denver | (720) 865-3500

A special note: Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit the Gardens any time throughout the year and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

  • Monday, January 15 (Martin Luther King Jr. Day)
  • Thursday, February 15
  • Saturday, March 9
  • Monday, April 22 (Earth Day)
  • Wednesday, June 5
  • Wednesday, July 3
  • Wednesday, August 28
  • Friday, November 29 (Thanksgiving Friday)

Denver Botanic Gardens at Chatfield
8500 Deer Creek Canyon Rd., Littleton | (720) 865-4346

  • Monday, January 15 (Martin Luther King Jr. Day)
  • Thursday, February 15
  • Saturday, March 9
  • Monday, April 22 (Earth Day)
  • Wednesday, June 5
  • Wednesday, July 3
  • Wednesday, August 28
  • Friday, November 29 (Thanksgiving Friday)

Denver Firefighters Museum
1326 Tremont Pl., Denver | (303) 892-1436

NOTE: Dates marked with (*) are only free to residents in the seven SCFD counties: Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Boulder, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson.

  • Saturday, February 10th | Burn Awareness Family Free Day

More 2024 Dates TBA


Denver Museum of Nature & Science
2001 Colorado Blvd., Denver | (303) 370-6000

A special note: Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit the museum any time throughout the year and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

  • Monday, January 8
  • Sunday, January 28
  • Sunday, February 25
  • Sunday, April 28 | Día del Niño 
  • Tuesday, June 4 | Free Night 5-9 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 19 | Juneteenth 
  • Wednesday, August 21 | Free Night 5-9 p.m.
  • Tuesday, September 10 | Free Night 5-9 p.m.
  • Monday, September 30 
  • Sunday, October 20 | Out! at the Museum 
  • Saturday, November 2 | Denver Arts Week: Night at the Museums 5-9 p.m.
  • Monday, November 18
  • Sunday, December 8

Denver Zoo
2300 Steele St., Denver | (720) 337-1400

A special note: Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit the Zoo during the off-season (typically August through April) and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

Free Day tickets are released at noon on the date listed below, click here to get your Free Day tickets.  Tickets are available first-come, first-served.

  • Friday, January 5  (Tickets released on December 25)
  • Sunday, January 21 (Tickets released on January 10)
  • Sunday, February 11 (Tickets released on January 31)
  • Sunday, April 7 (Tickets released on March 27)
  • Friday, November 1 (Tickets released on October 21)
  • Saturday, November 9 (Tickets released on October 30)
  • Sunday, November 17 (Tickets released on November 6)

Dinosaur Ridge
16831 W. Alameda Pkwy., Morrison | (303) 697-3466

A special note: Enjoy free entry to the Main Visitor Center exhibit hall and/or a $4 discount on guided bus tours on these special Fridays at Dinosaur Ridge.

  • Friday, March 15
  • Friday, April 12
  • Friday, September 13
  • Friday, November 15

Four Mile Historic Park
715 S. Forest St., Denver | (720) 865-0800

Join us for our monthly Free Day, the 4th Friday of each month!

(Free General Admission is only applicable during our normal hours from 10am-4pm. Admission to signature events or programs at Four Mile is not included with Free Days)

2024 Free Days

  • Friday, January 26th
  • Friday, February 23rd
  • Friday, March 22nd
  • Friday, April 26th
  • Friday, May 24th
  • Friday, June 28th
  • Friday, July 26th
  • Friday, August 23rd
  • Friday, September 27th
  • Friday, October 25th
  • Friday, November 22nd

History Colorado Center
1200 Broadway, Denver | (303) 447-8679

A special note: Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit the Museum any time throughout the year and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

History Colorado Center offers free admission for all active duty, National Guard and Reserve military personnel and their families from Memorial Day to Labor Day!  Ages 18 and under are always FREE!!

  • El Día del Niño (April 30, 2024) 
  • Colorado Day (August 1, 2024)
  • Night at the Museums (November 2nd, 2024)

Molly Brown House

1340 Pennsylvania Street, Denver | 303-832-4092

A speical note: Free admission is for the residents of: Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson Counties – must show ID. 

Beginning in February 2024, we will offer free admission to SCFD Residents the first Tuesday of each month from 5-7pm ONLY.  No reservations will be available.  Admission will be first come, first serve.

  • Tuesday, February 6
  • Tuesday, March 5
  • Tuesday, April 2
  • Tuesday, May 7
  • Tuesday, June 4
  • Tuesday, July 2
  • Tuesday, August 6
  • Tuesday, September 3
  • Tuesday, October 1
  • Tuesday, November 5
  • Tuesday, December 3

Museo de las Americas

861 Santa Fe Drive, Denver | 303-571-4401

A special note: Children 13 and under are always FREE!  

Each first Friday of the month, Museo opens its doors to the public from 5pm to 9pm. Admission is FREE

  • Friday, January 5
  • Friday, February 2
  • Friday, March 1
  • Friday, April 5
  • Friday, May 3
  • Friday, June 7
  • Friday, July 5
  • Friday, August 2
  • Friday, September 6
  • Friday, October 4
  • Friday, November 1
  • Friday, December 6

Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA)

1485 Delgany St, Denver | 303-298-7554

A special note: Ages 18 and under are ALWAYS FREE! FREE admission for SNAP beneficiaries, reciprocal museum members, and museum professionals - Call 303-298-7554,  Monday–Friday 9AM–5PM to reserve tickets.

Penny Admission: First Saturday of the month for Colorado residents

  • Saturday, January 6
  • Saturday, February 3
  • Saturday, March 2
  • Saturday, April 6
  • Saturday, May 4
  • Saturday, June 1
  • Saturday, July 6
  • Saturday, August 3
  • Saturday, September 7
  • Saturday, October 5
  • Saturday, November 2
  • Saturday, December 7

Plains Conservation Center
21901 E. Hampden Ave., Aurora | (303) 739-7160

A joint effort by the City of Aurora and Denver Botanic Gardens.

  • Thursday, January 18
  • Thursday, February 22
  • Saturday, March 16
  • Thursday, June 13 
  • Saturday, July 13
  • Thursday, August 15
  • Saturday, November 16 
  • Thursday, December 12

Always Free!

Aurora History MuseumBroomfield Veterans Museum, Colorado Music Hall of FameDenver Money Museum (Closed during renovation until 2024), Foothills Art CenterGolden History Museum, Heritage LakewoodHiwan Heritage ParkHudson GardensLittleton MuseumMines Museum of Earth Science

Additionally, you can request free passes for a variety of area museums through the Exploration Pass offered by Arapahoe Libraries, and the Culture Pass offered by Bemis Library, Jefferson County Public Libraries, and  Denver Public Libraries. Passes are for general admission for a specific day and are very limited in quantity. You must have a library card and not all venues listed below are available at all libraries. Please click on the library links to see which venues they provide passes to and to reserve your passes.

Participating venues include:


Other Ways to Get Free and Discounted Admission

Colorado EBT Card

Colorado SNAP recipients receive discounted admission to many different museums and cultural centers by showing their EBT card at the time of purchase. Typically, discounts are only good for general admission. Your EBT card cannot be used to purchase admission tickets, at restaurants or gift shops. Tickets for special exhibits must be purchased separately and cannot be purchased with an EBT card.  You can find a list of venues that provide EBT discounts HERE


MY Denver Card 

Offered by the City of Denver. The MY Denver Card is your library and recreation card all in one. Youth, ages 5 - 18, can have a key to the city with a MY Denver Card in hand! Youth will get free access to recreation centers, swimming  pools and various cultural facilities where they can participate in healthy, safe and fun activities afterschool, during school and summer breaks, and on the weekends. 


Five By Five

The Five By Five card provides families and staff members of the Denver Great Kids Head Start program with year-round access and educational opportunities at 22 of Denver’s cultural venues and recreation center pools at no cost. Five by Five empowers families and educators to use cultural experiences as gateways to prepare children for kindergarten and long term success. (The Five by Five mobile site expires September 30, 2023.)


My Denver Prime

Denver’s active lifestyle knows no age limit, and older adults and seniors are just as active as anyone.

Just like the MY Denver Card gives all Denver kids free access to Denver’s recreation centers and pools, the MY Denver PRIME membership expands free access for all the city’s residents ages 60 and older.